2013 Race in the Record Books

Hello All,
The 2013 race is in the record books. In the 350 mile race Jay Petervary set a new men’s bike record to McGrath, Eszter Horanyi set a new women’s bike record, Anne Ver Hoef  set a new women’s foot record and David Johnson won the men’s foot race in near record time pulling a sled that at 36 pounds weighed probably twice as much as the sled Steve Reifenstuhl pulled when he set the record in 2005. Bob Ostrom won the mens bike race to Nome. The legendary “SEVEN TIME” Nome finisher Tim Hewitt won the men’s foot division going completely self supported pulling a 100 + pound sled from the start and did not go inside a building the entire length of the Trail. Ausilia Vistarini took first in the women’s bike division. The women’s foot division was won by Shawn McTaggart won the womens foot division and set a new female record. After looking through the archives (at least the ones that I could find) Shawn also covered the last 77 miles from White Mountain to Nome in 23 hours and 45 minutes, faster than anyone on foot in the history of the race.
Thanks to all of you both on the Trail and at home that supported and cheered on our racers this year. Thanks to all you racers who finished in McGrath and those of you who pushed on to Nome. We hope to see all of you back next year!
Bill and Kathi

Categorized: News


Leave a Reply